Cochin University of Science and Technology

Cochin University of Science and Technology was established in 1971 as University of Cochin by the Government of Kerala.for “development of higher education with particular emphasis on post-graduate studies and research in applied science, technology, industry and commerce”.  In 1986, Cochin University received came to be known as Cochin University of Science and Technology (CUSAT). The University currently offers 14 Under Graduate Courses, 53 Post Graduation Courses, 9 M.Phil Programmes and several PhD programmes.

Vision of Cochin University of Science and Technology

The University’s basic philosophy and goals find eloquent expression in its Coat of Arms emblazoning the motto “Tejaswinavadhitamastu” which in essence means “may the wisdom accrued defy us both the teacher and the taught and percolate to the Universe in its totality”, which in essence means “may learning illumine us both” (the teacher and the taught).

Schools and Departments of Cochin University of Science and Technology

  • School of Engineering
  • Cochin University College of Engineering, Kuttanad
  • Kunjali Marakkar School of Marine Engineering Technology
  • Department of Computer Applications
  • Department of Computer Science
  • Department of Electronics
  • Department of Instrumentation
  • International School of Photonics
  • Department of Polymer Science and Rubber Technology
  • Department of Ship Technology
Environmental Studies
  • School of Environmental Studies
  • Department of English and Foreign Languages
  • Department of Hindi
  • School of Legal Studies
Marine Sciences
  • Department of Atmospheric Sciences
  • Department of Chemical Oceanography
  • Department of Physical Oceanography
  • Department of Marine Biology, Microbiology and Biochemistry
  • Department of Marine Geology and Geophysics
  • School of Industrial Fisheries
Medical Science and Technology
  • Department of Applied Chemistry
  • Department of Biotechnology
  • Department of Mathematics
  • Department of Physics
  • Department of Statistics
Social Sciences
  • Department of Applied Economics
  • School of Management Studies
  • Advanced Centre for Atmospheric Radar Research (ACARR)
  • Centre for Advanced Materials
  • Centre for enabling technology for the aged
  • Centre for Information Resource Management (CIRM)
  • Centre for Science Communication (CSC)
  • Centre for Science in Society (C-SIS)
  • Centre for Techno – Strategic Studies (C-TESS)
  • Centre for the study of Social Exclusion and Inclusive Policy
  • Centre for Innovation Technology Transfer and Industrial Collaboration (CITTIC)
  • Centre for the study of Social Exclusion and Inclusive Policy
  • DDU Kaushal Kendras (DDUKK)
  • Inter University Centre for Development of Marine Biotechnology (IUCDMB)
  • Inter University Centre for IPR Studies (IUCIPRS)
  • Inter University Centre for Nanomaterials and Devices (IUCND)
  • International Relations and Academic Admissions (IRAA)
  • K.M.Mani Centre for Budget Studies
  • National Centre for Aquatic Animal Health (NCAAH)
  • Rajiv Gandhi Chair for Contemporary Studies (RGCCS)
  • Sophisticated Test and Instrumentation Centre (STIC)
  • UGC CELL for SC/ST
  • Women's Studies Centre
  • University Library
Other Departments
  • Department of Physical Education
  • Department of Youth Welfare
  • Department of Public Relations and Publications
  • Engineering Department

Academic Programs

BTech Programmes

Candidates need to pass 10 plus 2 examination of the State of Kerala or any other examination accepted as equivalent thereto with Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry as optional subjects securing a minimum of 50% marks in Mathematics and 50% marks in Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry put together.

Dual Degree Programmes

Master of Intellectual Property (MIP),Ph.D.
Bachelor's Degree in Law, Economics, Political Science, History, Management and Science & Technology with 55% from any of the Universities in Kerala or an examination of any other University accepted by the University as equivalent thereto and to have obtained rank in CAT conducted by the University. 

LL.M (IPR) Ph.D Degree
Bachelor's Degree in Law with 55% from any of the Universities in Kerala or an examination of any other University accepted by the University as equivalent thereto and to have obtained rank in CAT conducted by the University. 

Post Graduate Programmes 

  • M. Sc. Environmental Technology
  • M. A. Translation in German/Russian
  • M. A. Hindi Language and Literature
  • 3 Year LL.B (Regular) 
  • L.L.M.
  • M. Sc. Industrial Fisheries 
  • M .F.Sc. Seafood Safety and Trade 
  • M. Sc. Meteorology
  • M. Sc. Hydrochemistry
  • M. Sc. Marine Biology 
  • M. Sc. Marine Geology 
  • M. Sc. Marine Geophysics 
  • M. Sc. Oceanography 
  • M. Sc. Chemistry 
  • M.Sc Biotechnology 
  • M. Sc. Mathematics 
  • M. Sc. Physics 
  • M. Sc. Statistics 
  • M.A. Applied Economics 
  • M. C. A. 
  • M. Sc. Electronic Science 
  • M.Sc Instrumentation 
  • M.Sc in Biopolymer Science
  • M. B. A. 
  • M. Voc in Technology and Management Consulting 
  • M. Voc in Mobile Phone Application Development
MTech Programmes

Candidates should have passed B.Tech/B.ScEngg. Degree Examination in the respective branch with a minimum of 50% marks.

MPhil Programmes

Candidates seeking admission to the Master of Philosophy degree course should have passed a Master's degree examination in the concerned subject of any of the Universities approved by the University Grants Commission (UGC) or an examination accepted by the Academic Council as equivalent thereto and have obtained a minimum of 55% aggregate marks (or equivalent grade) in the examination.  For M.Phil in Life Sciences the minimum eligibility is 60% in the qualifying examination.  Candidates who have passed the Master's degree examination in the Distance/Continuing Education mode are eligible for admission only if their degree is awarded by Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU).

PhD Programmes

Candidates seeking registration to the Ph.D programme should have a Master’s Degree from a recognized University with 55% marks in the qualifying examination, or a CGPA of 6.0 in the 10 point scale or an equivalent grade in similar scales. 

Diploma Programmes
  • P.G. Diploma in Communicative English
  • Diploma Programmes in French / German /Japanese/ Russian
  • Integrated Diploma in French/ German / Japanese/ Russian
  • Integrated Diploma in Italian
Certificate Programmes
  • Certificate programmes in French / German /Japanese/ Russian

Admission in Cochin University of Science and Technology

USAT CAT is an entrance exam conducted by Cochin University for admission to B.Tech, M.Tech, M.Phil, M.Voc, MCA, MBA, MA, M.Sc, LLB, BBA programs offered by various colleges under the university. Candidates who fulfill the eligibility criteria set by Cochin University have to fill CUSAT CAT Application form.

Contact Details

Cochin University of Science and Technology
Cochin University
PO Cochin -682022

Connect me with the Top Colleges