Periyar University

The Periyar University was established on 17th September 1997. The University which is named after the Great Social Reformer E.V. Ramasamy covers four districts namely Salem, Namakkal, Dharmapuri and Krishnagiri. Since its inception the University is playing a paramount role in bringing multi-faceted development for the country.

The University currently has 28 departments and 101 affiliated colleges and imparts higher education through three modes, viz., through its Departments of Study and Research, the affiliated Colleges and Periyar Institute of Distance Education (PRIDE).

The schools, departments, institutes, chairs, centers and cells contribute their best through various academic, research and extension activities. It organises several conferences and workshops and brings academicians and industrialists under one umbrella to discuss, deliberate and carve out time-demanding solutions to social problems. The University has tie-ups with several academic, research institutes and Universities across the world and keeps itself updated with the latest in higher education and research.


Periyar University aims towards excellence in education, research, promoting invention, innovation and preserving cultural identity for future generation.

  • Provide a vibrant learning environment, fostering innovation and creativity inspired by cutting edge research
  • Aspire to be a national leader in developing educated contributors, career ready learners and global citizens
  • Provide well equipped facilities for teaching, research, administration and student life
  • Have well defined autonomous governance structure
  • To make a significant, consistent and sustainable contribution towards social, cultural and economic life in Tamil Nadu, India.

Schools in Periyar University 

School of Biosciences
  • Biochemistry
  • Biotechnology
  • Microbiology
School of Mathematics
  • Computer Science
  • Library and Information Science
  • Mathematics
  • Statistics
School of Physical Sciences
  • Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Geology
School of Business Studies
  • Commerce
  • Economics
  • Management Studies
School of Languages
  • English
  • Tamil
School of Professional Studies
  • Education
  • Food Science and Nutrition
  • Textiles and Apparel Design
School of Social Sciences
  • Sociology
  • Psychology
  • Journalism and Mass Communication
  • History
School of Life Sciences
  • Botany
  • Zoology
  • Nutrition and Dietetics
School of Energy & Environmental Sciences
  • Energy Science and Technology
  • Environmental Science

Contact Details

Periyar University
Periyar Palkalai Nagar,
Tamil Nadu, India.

Connect me with the Top Colleges